

Lynn Wieland has been selected as the 2023 recipient of the Stroud Jordan award by the American Association of Candy Technologists (AACT). The award will be presented at a banquet on October 10, 2023 during the National Technical Seminar.

Wieland is vice president of operations at Spangler Candy Company. He joined the company in 1985 in the production department and was later promoted to shift supervisor. In 2006 he was appointed director of manufacturing in Bryan, Ohio, and in 2011 became director of contract manufacturing. In 2013 he was named director of contract relationships and product compliance and was also appointed to Spangler's management committee.

He has been an active member in the AACT throughout his career and has served as assistant secretary and secretary to the national chapter, as well as various committees. He co-wrote "An Inside Look at Hard Candy Manufacturing," published in the *Manufacturing Confectioner* in 2019. He is also an active

member of the NCA and PMCA. Wieland is known to be a mentor, both formally and informally, to many within the industry.

In addition to his professional volunteerism, Wieland served as president of the Bryan, Ohio, city council from 2018-2019. He has been a member of the Fountain City

Lynn Wieland

Amphitheater Booster Club and has been a trustee and supporter of the Williams County United Way. He has coached various recreational basketball and softball teams over the years and can occasionally be found singing and playing drums with local musicians at venues around the area.

This award is given in honor of the late Stroud Jordan, a pioneer candy technologist, to recognize individuals who have provided exceptional and outstanding service, not just to the AACT, but to the confectionery industry as a whole.

2022 Michelle Frame	2004 Tim J. Murphy	1986 William N. Duck	1967 Jay C. Musser
2021 Sandra Murphy	2003 Ron Bixler	1984 George Jenkins	1966 Rodney Welch
2020 Eric Schmoyer	2002 Reg Ohlson	1983 George Richardson	1965 John W. Vassos
2019 Rose Potts	2001 Melvin O. Warnecke	1982 Silvio Crespo	1964 Prudence W. Allured
2018 Gwen Evenstad	2000 Ed Seguine	1981 Bernard Minifie	1963 Archie B. Cramer
2017 Pam Gesford	1999 Jack Collins	1980 Donald Mitchell	1962 W. Tresper Clarke
2016 Randy Hofberger	1998 James McGovern	1979 John A. Kooreman	1961 Samuel F. Hinkle
2015 Marlene Stauffer	1997 Richard Schier	1978 Robert P. Allen	1960 Katheryn E. Langwill
2014 Michael Allured	1996 Reg Groves	1977 Bart Siebers	1959 Otto H. Windt
2013 Bob Huzinec	1995 Joachim (Joe) H. von Elbe	1976 Lloyd Latten	1958 Horace B. Cosler
2012 Rich Hartel, PhD	1994 Carl O. Moore	1975 Gerald Doolin	1957 Norman W. Kempf
2011 Terry Richardson	1993 Allen R. Allured	1974 Horton Corwin	1956 John M. Krno
2010 Robert Boutin	1992 Patrick J. Huffman	1973 Simon O. Schnitzer	1955 C. Rudolph Kroeckel
2009 Judy Cooley	1991 Walter Vink	1972 Fred Janssen	1954 Justin J. Alikonis
2008 John Urbanski	1990 Patrick Hurley	1971 Elwood W. Meyers	1953 Hans F. Dresel
2007 Ed Wilson	1989 Maurice Jeffery	1970 Gordon R. Maybee	1952 James P. Booker
2006 Paul Richards	1988 John Kitt	1969 L. Russell Cook	1951 James A. King
2005 Ed Minson	1987 Odvar Solstad	1968 Herbert Knechtel	. 0

Past recipients of the Stroud Jordan award

